Only the west elevation remains of this chapel, surrounding the courtyard to the North East, following the collapse of its vault.
The Chapel of the Black Penitents was built in 1563, designed to accommodate the Brotherhood of Black Penitents who occupied it until the Revolution.
Description: The Chapel of the Black Penitents
It was allocated to them in 1566. It changed occupants at the time of the Revolution: it was then occupied by a Montagnard electoral section.
After that, it changed function several times becoming a theatre,carpenter's studio and even a blacksmith's workshop.
> Discover the history of Hôtel de Sade.